Portfolio Final Major Project.

My Final Major Project is based on connections with the family tree through my dreams and memories making strong links towards Aboriginal family trees I decided to make a forest showing connections to each tree with a diagram result of the trees linking to each other but making them unique by the identities of my family.

The first image shows a series of abstract glass piece to be used for the top of my trees to show tree tops I used this because the edges look like branches in the wind and shows the suggestions of those trees are not a perfect form.

The second image shows a series of white clay tree tops using decals through a screen printed method which has a space in the middle of these which a leaf will be hung behind to show birth and being in a mother’s womb resembling childhood.

The third set of images show my work on the abstracted glass pieces to my abstracted leaf pieces made from glass, which are to be applied to the top of my trees.

The fourth image shows my tree forms after the firing process of being glazed, adding stains and oxides during the colouration processes.

The fifth image shows the process of my trees cooling off after being fired. You can see the twisting and winding of my trees to show abstraction and imperfection of family and trees.

The sixth image shows my decals on my leaves which I had to glaze for the decals to adhere to the leaves, this shows the narrative perspective of my dreams and memories.

The seventh set of images shows the processes of my trees subjects, from not adding the leaves to adding the leaves. The visual points to my illustrations and narratives towards my work using fishing wire so as not be visually distracting.

The eighth set of images show a series of porcelain leaves with complete with stains and oxides, and meaning towards my thought process throughout this project to resemble the delicate form of a real life leaf. I used the skills and techniques of adding imprints from collecting leaves but also drawing in to a plaster bat and lightly pressing the porcelain over the plaster bat to show the embellishment, also using the skill of drawing in to porcelain.

The ninth set of images show two series of my paintings for the exhibition which show the links to Aboriginal family trees, linking them towards my tree structures. The diagram painted shall be placed over a table top with my trees in the designated places matching to my narratives as the ‘We Come As One’ piece shall be on the wall leading up and then down to my trees as the main focus point.

Leave a comment